![]() |
![]() |
![]() | |
| CAUS Update 11/28/98 |
WingMakers Update...More Evidence of Marketing PloyCAUS thanks David Sinclair (rboerner@imap4.asu.edu) for his excellant research and findings: Peter, I was very impressed when I first heard about the Wingmaker site yesterday, and I would definitely like to believe every word of it. However, there is the following inconsistency: The webmaster of the Wingmakers site is a guy named Mark Hempel. There is no doubt about that; the real audio files have this name as the copyright entry, and an InterNIC query on the domain wingmakers.com gives the following information: Registrant: Domain Name: WINGMAKERS.COM Administrative Contact: 612-947-9225 Record last updated on 22-Jul-98. Record created on 20-Jun-98. Database last updated on 28-Nov-98 04:34:02 EST. Domain servers in listed order: NS2.9NETAVE.COM 208.215.74.2 But then, he also posted a message on 12 newsgroups on 11/20/98 in which he acted as if he were just a casual visitor to the wingmaker site in search of more information: >Does anyone know about a race of aliens called the WingMakers? I was just at >a site that claims to represent the contents of a time capsule that was left >behind in the 900 AD timeframe in a hollowed out cave in New Mexico. There's >no information on the site to contact anyone, but there's some incredible >photographs of the cultural artifacts. According to the story, a scientist >working with the NSA defected about a year ago and gave all of this evidence >to a journalist who placed it on the net. I'm not sure that I believe it, >but the paintings and philosophy stuff I saw and read don't look or sound >like anything from this planet. I guess I'm just curious about other's >opinions. > >Mark > >www.wingmakers.com Strangely, Mark Hempel's e-mail adress in those postings is wingmakers@worldnet.att.net. I don't know what to make of this childish duplicity; I can only conclude that the whole thing is a hoax. I would very much like to hear your ideas on these inconsistencies. David Well David, my thoughts right now are...that I have better things to do than focus in on this marketing ploy. I also find the timing of the appearance of this website, considering when it was registered, a little peculiar considering what else is going on at this time. Possibly a diversion of some sought? |
|
References |
David Sinclair (rboerner@imap4.asu.edu) |
|
|
HOME | SUPPORT CAUS | CONTACT CAUS | MAILING LIST The PAG Network? The PAG Network
?2001. All Rights Reserved. Send CAUS Comments and Reports to: CAUS@CAUS.ORG |